Hurricane Harbor

A writer and a tropical muse. A funky Lubavitcher who enjoys watching the weather, hurricanes, listening to music while enjoying life with a sense of humor and trying to make sense of it all!

Monday, September 09, 2013

Meteor in GA/AL... Humberto Nearing Hurricane Strength... Gabrielle Going Green on Funktop..

11PM Humberto... strengthening towards Hurricane Status...

11:00 PM AST Mon Sep 9
Location: 13.9°N 25.9°W
Moving: WNW at 10 mph
Min pressure: 1000 mb
Max sustained: 60 mph

New statistics have it at 100MPH where the earlier forecast was for 90MPH

INIT  10/0300Z 13.9N  25.9W   50 KT  60 MPH
 12H  10/1200Z 14.4N  27.1W   60 KT  70 MPH
 24H  11/0000Z 15.4N  28.1W   70 KT  80 MPH
 36H  11/1200Z 16.9N  28.7W   80 KT  90 MPH
 48H  12/0000Z 19.1N  29.1W   85 KT 100 MPH
 72H  13/0000Z 23.0N  30.0W   75 KT  85 MPH
 96H  14/0000Z 25.2N  32.3W   55 KT  65 MPH
120H  15/0000Z 26.0N  36.0W   45 KT  50 MPH

Interesting view of the track for Gabrielle...

Canadian Hurricane Center...they are good... they seem to have it a higher, stronger storm than we do... interesting.

Humberto big green splotch on Funktop.

Gabrielle went green on funktop... finally. Jokingly told a friend that if it does that someone at the NHC is gonna puke at the thought of having to write advisories again...  probably true too.

And................the sounds of the night were shattered in the South as reports of a meteor flashing it's way across the skies of Alabama and Georgia and possibly nearby states are streaming in to the media. No pictures yet.. no video yet.

Seems there have been several so far this September... go figure no hurricanes. but lots of meteors.

Twitter is ablaze tonight looking for a picture.. a photo.. video... check it out yourself..

Here's an example.

Top / All / People you follow
 James-Paul Dice ‏@jpdice_Fox6 17m
Had Dr. Bill Cooke from NASA on-air about tonight's meteor.  The meteor was the size of a bowling ball traveling at 73,000mph. #fox6wbrc

 NeEmergencyNewsWX ‏@NeEmergencyNews 33m
POSSIBLE Meteor strike in the Southeast US....near Birmingham, Alabama...Fire ball was seen then a sonic boom was...
Followed by

 Michael King ‏@mhking 48m
Reports of a bright meteor streaking over GA & AL tonight … #news
Followed by Michelle Malkin

 John Morales ‏@JohnMoralesNBC6 49m
MT @spann: No video so far of tonight’s 9:30p ET fireball/meteor that streaked over the southern sky. Hundreds of reports from 5 states

 TWC Breaking ‏@TWCBreaking 53m
We've heard some reports of a bright meteor fireball over central AL and GA.  Did you see it? Tweet us your pictures or video.

Best current source of information...

When done read the earlier blog... everything I said is still true and expect an upgrade back to named status for Gabrielle if she continues to flare up and spin all night the way she has all day.

Sweet Tropical Dreams

01:45 UTC
20:45 CDT
Boaz,AL-21P1: 173°/17°
P2: 241°/3°
NoNoJason B.3The most remarkable thing I have ever saw! The blue streak lit up the whole...Details
01:45 UTC
20:45 CDT
Birmingham,AL0P1: 95°/0°
P2: 101°/0°
YesYesDavid J.1I only heard the sound. But it was loud. We thought it might...Details
01:40 UTC
20:40 CDT
crestview,FL-13P1: 0°/90°
P2: 0°/0°
UnknownNoJames S.3Object appeared larger than most meteors I have observed with a hot red color vs....Details
01:38 UTC
20:38 CDT
Pinson,AL-22P1: 179°/24°
P2: 208°/11°
YesNoWilliam S.2-Details
01:35 UTC
21:35 EDT
Decatur,GA-13P1: 90°/90°
P2: 270°/90°
UnknownNoTrama W.1-Details
01:35 UTC
20:35 CDT
Irondale,AL0P1: 0°/0°
P2: 222°/0°
YesUnknownTess S.1-Details
01:32 UTC
20:32 CDT
Birmingham,AL0P1: 230°/0°
P2: 233°/34°
NoNoKaitlyn S.3-Details
01:30 UTC
20:30 CDT
Alabaster,AL-7P1: 224°/73°
P2: 5°/0°
YesNoHolly W.1-Details
01:30 UTC
20:30 CDT
Sylacauga,AL0P1: 308°/75°
P2: 298°/30°
YesNoCarroll H.3-Details
01:30 UTC
20:30 CDT
Harpersville,AL-6P1: 12°/28°
P2: 268°/35°
NoNoMarty B.1its was something i have never seen before


Post a Comment

<< Home